Langue / Taal

History

The history of the « Duc de Bourgogne » goes back to April 27th 1648, when a person named Popieul was given permission to build a new establishment on the Tanner's Square, next to the Tanner's Corporation Guild Hall. A 17th century painting, made by an anonymous artist, depicts this well-known sight. From the very beginning, the new building must have been a public house, named « Den Hollander» (The Dutchman).

In 1830, the name « Den Hollander» no longer appealed to the ear of the brand-new 'Belgians', who just then became independent from Holland. Hence, the original name was replaced by « La Vache » (The Cow). However, local people continued to use both names for this leading establishment, frequented by the elite of the town.

In the second half of the 19th century, an important British colony settled in Bruges. Among them, for example, sculptor Alfred Gilbert, who created the Eros Fountain for London's Picadilly Circus. The artist lived most of his adult life in Bruges and his second wife was a Bruges lady. It is assumed that these British locals were regular customers for 'afternoon teas' and probably under their influence the house was renamed as «The Carlton».

During the second world war, when the Carlton had become the property of a noble family from the neighbourhood of Bruges, plans were drawn up for a fairly radical restoration. The architect returned to the building's original facade with the two step-gables. After the war these plans were carried out, with a special grant from the City of Bruges. The first post-war tenant, Maurice De Clerck, re-opened the premises in 1947. He gave his restaurant a new name, the « Duc de Bourgogne ».

In 1966 Maurice de Clerck retired. The Van de Vijver family of the East Flanders Province became the next occupant. The family-business already owned several other first-class restaurants, such as the «Park Hotel» in Lokeren. Joseph Van de Vijver, the «Godfather» of the family (in the positive sense), saw the chance of a lifetime to crown his life's work. He was a man with vision and didn't hesitate for one moment. His son and daughter-in-law, Willy and Gaby Van de Vijver, were given the responsibility to run the «Duke» in the future.

Moreover, the new tenants had ambitious plans: the «Duke» should become a pinnacle of culinary achievement. By this time, the connoisseurs' pallet had also developed, leaning towards the more exotic, the more exclusive preparations and combinations. Successive chefs each contributed their skills to form the taste of locals and visitors.

In 1987 Willy Van de Vijver retired in his turn, exactly 20 years after he started, just like the former tenant. The last wish of the late father Van de Vijver was respected. He always insisted on keeping the «Duke» in the family. Paul and Therese Grobet-Van de Vijver, brother-in-law and sister of Willy, took over, after having run the «Chateau de Laarne» for many years. Th. Van de Vijver was owner till December 2010.

In February 2016, the restaurant was acquired by a new couple. The authenticity of "the Duc" will be maintained, but a fresh wind blows through the business to restore the former glory of the building.

Language / Taal

Histoire

L'histoire du «Duc de Bourgogne» nous ramène au 27 avril de l'année 1648, lorsqu’un certain Popieul, reçut l'autorisation de construire une nouvelle maison sur la Place des Tanneurs, mitoyenne à la maison de la corporation des tanneurs. Depuis sa construction, cette demeure est affectée au débit de boissons sous l'enseigne « De Hollander ». Une peinture du 17ième siècle, d'un artiste inconnu, met en scène cette façade urbaine.

Vu l'évolution historique, il n'était plus opportun en 1830 de s'appeler « De Hollander ». Le nom de l'établissement fut donc changé en « La Vache ». Certes, dans la forme, le nom avait changé mais pas dans l'esprit des Brugeois les plus conservateurs et de la clientèle très élitiste.

Dans la seconde moitié du 19ième siècle , une colonie anglaise s'établit dans la ville dont, par exemple, le sculpteur Alfred Gilbert (créateur de la fontaine Eros, Piccadilly Circus à Londres) faisait partie. Sa deuxième femme était même brugeoise. Les Anglo-Brugeois appréciant tellement leur « afternoon tea » le long des canaux et l'influence Britannique étant si forte, « De Hollander-La Vache » fut rebaptisé « Carlton ».

Pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale, alors que le « Carlton » était la propriété d'une famille noble de la région, on mit en œuvre les plans de restauration du site. On revint aux façades à pignons à redans de l'époque. Avec la participation financière de la ville, les travaux furent entrepris après la guerre. En 1947 Maurice De Clerck entra dans les lieux, comme premier exploitant. Il amena le changement de nom du restaurant en « Duc de Bourgogne ».

En 1966, De Clerck arrêta les activités. C'est la famille Van de Vijver, originaire de Flandre Orientale, qui reprit le flambeau. Cette famille évoluait déjà dans le milieu avec d'autres hôtels-restaurants, comme le Parkhotel à Lokeren. Jozef Van de Vijver, le patriarche de la famille, y voyait un grand avenir et l'occasion de couronner sa carrière.

L'exploitation du « Duc de Bourgogne » fut confiée à Willy et Gaby Van de Vijver, son fils ainé et sa belle-fille. Les nouveaux patrons avaient de grandes ambitions: le hisser dans les plus hautes sphères culinaires . Pendant ces années, la gastronomie trouva au « Duc » la place d'honneur qui lui revenait. On y travaillait des mets plus fins et de nouveau produits, on créa des associations nouvelles. Le «Duc de Bourgogne » devint synonyme de gastronomie.

Vingt ans plus tard, tout comme Maurice De Clerck, Willy van de Vijver se retira en 1987 pour une vie plus tranquille. La succession fut hasardeuse mais le dernier souhait de Jozef Van de Vijver fut respecté: le « Duc » resta dans la famille . Après avoir exploité pendant près de 30 ans l'Hostellerie du Château de Laarne, ce sont Paul et Thérèse Grobet-Van de Vijver, qui sans hésiter, reprirent l'établissement. Mme. Grobet a été propriétaire jusqu’au décembre 2010.

Depuis Février 2016, l'hôtel-restaurant était dans les mains d'un nouveau couple. L'authenticité du "Duc" est maintenue, mais un vent frais qui souffle à travers la chose à restaurer l'ancienne gloire du bâtiment.